Malaysia to offer 15-day visa-free travel for tourists from China and India in 2020

By TIN Media | Current News Published 2 years ago on 29 December 2019
Read News


The Malaysian government has broadcasted two orders permitting a 15-day visa exemption for tourists, particularly from China and India in conjunction with Visit Malaysia Year 2020.

For the whole year of 2020, tourists from these two countries can visit Malaysia for a span of 15 days, provided they register via the electronic travel registration and information system – either individually or through travel agencies in their respective countries. Once registered, the tourists must travel to Malaysia within three months. The 15-day visa-free period cannot be extended.
Entrance and exit from Malaysia would have to be through authorized airports or through the immigration control posts.

These include the Sultan Iskandar building in Johor, Johor Bahru railway station, Johor Immigration control post at Kompleks Sultan Abu Bakar, Tanjung Kupang, Johor; Padang Besar, Perlis; Bukit Kayu Itam, Changloon, Kedah; Sungai Tujoh, Sarawak; and the Immigration control post at Tedungan in Limbang, Fifth Division, Sarawak.

Upon arrival, they must prove they have sufficient money or a credit card as well as provide an itinerary of their travel plans.
The gazettes were signed by Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad, exercising the functions of the home affairs minister. According to the gazettes, the tourists may not apply for any other passes under the Immigration Regulations 1963. Also, the tourists should have a valid ticket for their return home countries or by air to any other country


Email TIN

TIN Media - Travel Industry Network is Malaysia's home grown B2B Travel Industry Media with the most influential B2B online resources including news, research, events, and marketing services and more.