Iran and Italy nationalities are now restricted to enter Sabah

By TIN Media | Europe Published 4 years ago on 11 March 2020
Read News


 In the light of the growing outbreak of Covid-19, Sabah's travel restrictions were extended immediately on Iran and Italy. 

Datuk Safar Untong, Sabah State Secretary said nationals from both countries would not be allowed into Sabah by air, sea or land.

Foreigners, irrespective of nationalities, and Malaysians non-residents of Sabah who have recently traveled to Iran and Italy in the last 14 days would not be allowed as well.

He said that every Sabahan, who is a permanent resident or citizen of the Sabah, would be subject to a mandatory 14-day home quarantine when he returns from Iran and Italy.

"They may only be granted one-off visa extension for up to seven days if they want to extend their expiring visas," he said.

Before this, all flights from and to China and Korea were forbidden from regulating Covid-19 spread.

A total of 124 Covid-19 individuals were tested in Sabah, but they were all negative on 10 March.

Among these, ninety-two are Malaysians (seven of them from Saba), 26 Chinese, one each from Jordan, Burma, Myanmar, Japan, Hong Kong, and Indonesia.


Email TIN

TIN Media - Travel Industry Network is Malaysia's home grown B2B Travel Industry Media with the most influential B2B online resources including news, research, events, and marketing services and more.